A.S.M.O.

adventures in circuit bending, diy electronics and experimental music

Bathysphere Modular

Bathysphere Modular

This is the modular synth in the Bathysphere studio which I’ve just finished re-housing into 4 smaller units, so as to make it a bit more portable. We bought this baby 18 months back on ebay and It came in one big heavy cabinet, 66 Doepfer and Analogue Solutions modules, including 9 oscillators, 4 sequencers, 6 analogue drums and numerous filters, envelopes, LFO’s and utility modules. It’s a fantastic synth and it’s been used on pretty much everything we’ve done in the studio since. It plays a big part in my circuit bent setup, I designed the Chaos Sequencer to send out triggers and receive control voltages. and all my Speaks have CV ins. Today is the first time for some months that I’ve had the whole thing running together as I’d previously taken out a few modules to build a small system for an ASMO vs kREEPA set at Summer Sundae 2007. I spent a couple of hours this afternoon testing all the modules by patching it up to play Giorgio Moroder‘s classic analogue workout ‘I Feel Love’.

7 comments on “Bathysphere Modular

  1. Richard Barton
    July 25, 2008

    Nice to see that my old synth has resurfaced and is looking good !
    Congratulations on making a better cabinet that my original !
    Richard Barton

  2. develd
    December 17, 2009

    This night I did a research on the song “I feel love”. I’ve just saw your video on youtube and was fascinated. In parallel at the TV was the movie “Water” about India in 1938 and an indian woman voice was singing with your sound of the clip likewise the spheric original.
    Just want to let you know, this was really a nice impession – Thanks.

  3. FELIPE
    July 6, 2010

    BEAUTIFUL BEAST!!GREAT SOUND!! JUST HOPE SOMEDAY I WILL GET MY OWN… OR AT LEAST A MS-20 OR A WASP 😉

  4. DAVID
    May 22, 2012

    Hello! What is the module (brand/model #) your using for manual note changes? Thanks!

    • asmo23
      May 22, 2012

      It’s a home made module, basically a rotary switch to switch between ins/outs

      • David
        May 24, 2012

        Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Modular Test : I Feel Love | Stahuj cz filmy zdarma

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2008 by in Analogue Synthesis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
